Call Us - Problem Solved
1-877-HELMER1
1-877-435-6371

DUI 1st, 2nd, 3rd Stop

DWI/DUI Attorneys

A drunk driving offense is a very serious matter, often carrying harsh penalties that include fines, license suspension, surcharges, and jail time. Even a DWI/DUI (Driving While Intoxicated/Driving Under the Influence) first offense can impact your job or personal relationships.

Because New Jersey DWI/DUI laws are complex and changing, it is vital to have experienced Atlantic County DWI/DUI attorneys and Atlantic City DWI/DUI attorneys representing your interests. When you are accused of DWI/DUI, the lawyers at Helmer, Conley and Kasselman, PA can help you and prepare an effective defense.

DWI/DUI attorneys

If you are pulled over on suspicion of drunk driving, keep in mind you have rights. Also, when questioned during a DWI/DUI stop, such as a Camden County DWI/DUI stop, remember the following:

  • Be courteous but do not volunteer information;
  • Do not refuse to take a breath test;
  • Ask to have the DWI/DUI stop recorded by the video camera in the patrol car;
  • Ask the precise reason why your vehicle has been stopped; and
  • If you fail the breath test with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher, you have the legal right to have your own private test done.

Pay the best possible attention to all that happens during your DWI/DUI stop and be sure to share your recollections with your attorney. Any detail may be important to your DWI/DUI attorney's investigation and to your defense.

DWI/DUI first, second, and third offense

Penalties depend on whether the DWI/DUI offender has committed the first, second, third, or subsequent DWI/DUI offense as well as on the level of blood alcohol concentration. This can also affect the length of time for which the offender may lose his or her license.

DWI/DUI first offense

For example, a first offense in New Jersey, including an Atlantic County DWI/DUI first offense, might result in the following:

  • Loss of license from three months to one year;
  • Up to 30 days in jail;
  • Fines between $250 and $500;
  • 12 to 48 hours of mandatory alcohol awareness classes at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) costing $100;
  • Violent Crimes Compensation Board (VCCB) penalty of $50;
  • Safe Neighborhood Fund Assessment of $75;
  • DWI Enforcement Fund—$100;
  • DWI surcharge—$100;
  • $3,000 insurance surcharge.

DWI/DUI second offense

With a New Jersey DWI/DUI second offense, including an Atlantic County DWI/DUI second offense or Atlantic City DWI/DUI second offense, penalties increase:

  • Loss of license for two years;
  • 48 hours to 90 days in jail;
  • Fines ranging from $500 to $1,000;
  • 30 days community service;
  • Requirement of an ignition interlock device or two-year suspension of registration privileges;
  • Safe Neighborhood Fund Assessment of $75;
  • DWI Enforcement Fund—$100;
  • DWI surcharge—$100;
  • $3,000 insurance surcharge .

DWI/DUI third offense

  • Loss of license for ten years;
  • 180 days in jail (90 days can be in a drug or alcohol inpatient rehabilitation program);
  • Fine of $1,000.00;
  • Requirement of an ignition interlock device or ten-year suspension of registration privileges;
  • Safe Neighborhood Fund Assessment of $75;
  • DWI Enforcement Fund—$100;
  • DWI surcharge—$100;
  • $3,000 insurance surcharge ($4,500 if within three years of first violation).

With offices in Camden County and Atlantic County, the law firm of Helmer, Conley and Kasselman, PA knows New Jersey motor vehicle and DWI/DUI laws and fights hard for you. Contact us for the skilled legal representation you need. If convicted of DWI charges in any area in New Jersey, you could face license suspension, substantial fines, points on your license, insurance company surcharges and possibly jail time. Our DWI/DUI lawyers work hard to fight for your driving privileges.

Call Us - Problem Solved

| 1-877-HELMER1
Helmer, Conley & Kasselman, P.A.

Time is of the Essence

Don’t let your rights be jeopardized.