Call Us - Problem Solved
1-877-HELMER1
1-877-435-6371

Drunk Driving Accidents

New Jersey, Including Atlantic City, Drunk Driving Laws

DWI/DUI Attorneys

The DWI laws (also called DUI/DWI laws) in New Jersey are among the strictest in the nation. If convicted of DWI charges in any area in New Jersey, you could face license suspension, substantial fines, points on your license, insurance company surcharges and possibly jail time. Our DWI/DUI lawyers work hard to fight for your driving privileges.

Like drunk driving laws across the country, New Jersey drunk driving laws impose severe penalties on those arrested and convicted.

First offense:

  • Loss of license from three months to one year;
  • Up to 30 days in jail;
  • Fines between $250 and $500;
  • 12 to 48 hours of mandatory alcohol awareness classes at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) costing $100;
  • Violent Crimes Compensation Board (VCCB) penalty of $50;
  • Safe Neighborhood Fund Assessment of $75;
  • DWI Enforcement Fund—$100;
  • DWI surcharge—$100;
  • $3,000 insurance surcharge.

Second offense (within ten years):

  • Loss of license for two years;
  • 48 hours to 90 days in jail;
  • Fines ranging from $500 to $1,000;
  • 30 days community service;
  • Requirement of an ignition interlock device or two-year suspension of registration privileges;
  • Safe Neighborhood Fund Assessment of $75;
  • DWI Enforcement Fund—$100;
  • DWI surcharge—$100;
  • $3,000 insurance surcharge.

Third or subsequent offense:

  • Loss of license for ten years;
  • 180 days in jail (90 days can be in a drug or alcohol inpatient rehabilitation program);
  • Fine of $1,000.00;
  • Requirement of an ignition interlock device or ten-year suspension of registration privileges;
  • Safe Neighborhood Fund Assessment of $75;
  • DWI Enforcement Fund—$100;
  • DWI surcharge—$100;
  • $3,000 insurance surcharge ($4,500 if within three years of first violation);
  • And keep in mind, these are the penalties imposed before prosecutors consider any accident consequences.

Atlantic County drunk driving attorneys

That is why you need experienced Atlantic City drunk driving attorneys like those at the law offices of Helmer, Conley & Kasselman, PA. Whether in Atlantic or Camden counties, your Atlantic City drunk driving attorney provides the skilled legal support you need when accused of drunk driving.

Atlantic County drunk driving accident

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, there were 590 traffic fatalities in New Jersey in 2008. One hundred and fifty-four of them, or 26 percent, were alcohol-related. According to Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD), on average, someone in the United States is killed by a drunk driver every 45 minutes. These statistics show why an Atlantic County drunk driving accident is extremely serious. The state has an interest in keeping all those accused of driving while intoxicated off the road by suspending your license for substantial periods of time up to ten (10) years.

New Jersey—including Atlantic City—drunk driving law is complicated. Without an experienced drunk driving accident attorney there is a much greater probability that you will be found guilty. Of course, the same holds true for New Jersey's drunk driving law in Camden County. So please, if you have been involved in a drunk driving accident in Atlantic or Camden Counties, contact a competent drunk driving attorney at the law offices of Helmer, Conley & Kasselman, PA today.

Call Us - Problem Solved

| 1-877-HELMER1
Helmer, Conley & Kasselman, P.A.

Time is of the Essence

Don’t let your rights be jeopardized.