196 East Commerce Street
Bridgeton, NJ 08302
Call Us - Problem Solved
Most people are aware that harassment can get them into trouble at work. But, what most people don’t realize is that harassment can also be prosecuted as a criminal offense under New Jersey law. So, if you have been charged with harassment, you are facing fines, jail time and other consequences, and you should hire a New Jersey harassment attorney promptly to help you build a strong defense.
New Jersey’s harassment statute, N.J.S.A. Section 2C:33-4, identifies three separate offenses. A person can be charged with harassment in New Jersey if he or she:
Under N.J.S.A. Section 2C:33-4, harassment is graded as a petty disorderly persons offense. This means that it carries up to 30 days in jail and a $500 fine. In some cases, individuals charged with harassment will face other charges (i.e., assault or domestic violence), and these charges can carry even more significant penalties.
Due to the breadth of N.J.S.A. Section 2C:33-4, criminal harassment can take many different forms. One common example involves calling someone repeatedly late at night and leaving threatening or offensive messages. Another common example involves threatening to physically harm a domestic partner or spouse. In addition, making threats to neighbors, yelling at someone on the street or in a bar, and bullying co-workers are all examples of acts that may be prosecuted as criminal harassment in New Jersey as well.
While there are several ways for prosecutors to pursue a harassment charge, proving that a defendant is guilty of harassment can be challenging in many cases. Prosecutors must prove the defendant’s guilt beyond a reasonable doubt, which means they must have evidence that conclusively answers questions such as:
When our New Jersey harassment attorney represents clients in court, they work to expose as many flaws in the prosecution’s case as possible. We fight to help our clients avoid convictions whenever possible, and we help our clients explore alternatives such as pre-trial intervention (PTI) or conditional dismissal when necessary.
Have you been charged with harassment in New Jersey? If so, we can help, but it is important that you contact us as soon as possible. To schedule a confidential initial consultation with a New Jersey harassment lawyer at Helmer, Conley & Kasselman, P.A., call 877-435-6371 or send us your contact information online now.
Don’t let your rights be jeopardized.