Skip to Content

Call Us - Problem Solved
1-877-HELMER1
1-877-435-6371

Sexual Assault, Megan's Law, and Other Sex Crimes: Child Molestation

Being convicted of a sex crime involving a minor can have life-changing consequences. Along with the stigma of being labeled a child sex offender, individuals convicted of child molestation can face mandatory Megan’s Law registration, parole supervision for life, and various other consequences in their family lives and careers. This is all before you get to the criminal penalties, which can include substantial fines and years – if not decades – behind bars.

Under New Jersey’s criminal laws, child molestation is a form of sexual assault. At Helmer, Conley and Kasselman, we have extensive experience representing clients charged with sexual assault throughout New Jersey. We understand that spouses, domestic partners and children often use allegations of child molestation as a weapon, in most cases not realizing the substantial consequences involved. We are also intimately familiar with the New Jersey criminal justice system and the numerous defenses that are available to individuals who are on trial.

If you have been charged with child molestation, you need an experienced and tenacious advocate on your side. Contact us to discuss your case in confidence today.

Understanding Child Molestation Charges in New Jersey

New Jersey’s sexual assault statute outlines a number of offenses that can all broadly be classified as child molestation. These include:

First-Degree Child Molestation Offenses

  • An act of sexual penetration with a child who is less than 13 years old.
  • An act of sexual penetration with a child who is between the ages of 13 and 16 if the assailant is related to the child, is the child’s guardian or has another close relationship with the child.

Second-Degree Child Molestation Offenses

  • An act of sexual penetration with a child who is between the ages of 13 and 16 if the assailant is at least four years older than the victim.
  • An act of sexual contact (short of sexual penetration) with a child who is less than 13 years old if the assailant is at least four years older than the child.

“Sexual contact” is defined as, “an intentional touching by the victim or actor, either directly or through clothing, of the victim's or actor's intimate parts for the purpose of degrading or humiliating the victim or sexually arousing or sexually gratifying the actor.” It can also include, “sexual contact of the actor with himself . . . [if] in view of the victim whom the actor knows to be present.”

The possible prison sentences for child molestation include: (i) 25 years to life for sexual penetration with a child under the age of 13; (ii) 10 to 20 years for all other forms of first-degree child molestation; and, (iii) five to 10 years for all second-degree child molestation offenses.

Discuss Your New Jersey Child Molestation Case in Confidence

For more information about your situation and to find out what defenses you may have available, schedule a confidential initial consultation at Helmer, Conley and Kasselman. To speak with one of our experienced criminal defense lawyers about your case, please call 1-877-435-6371 or contact us online now.

Call Us - Problem Solved

| 1-877-HELMER1
Helmer, Conley & Kasselman, P.A.

Time is of the Essence

Don’t let your rights be jeopardized.