196 East Commerce Street
Bridgeton, NJ 08302
Even when you are in a committed relationship, engaging (or attempting to engage) in sexual conduct against someone’s will can lead to criminal charges. In fact, sexual violence is among the most common allegations in domestic violence cases. If you have been accused of sexual violence by a spouse, partner or anyone else protected under New Jersey’s domestic violence law, it is important that you speak with an experienced New Jersey defense attorney.
We defend individuals in domestic violence cases statewide. If you are being accused of sexual violence, a New Jersey defense attorney at Helmer, Conley & Kasselman, P.A. can fight to protect you. Whether you are dealing with false accusations of domestic violence or you need to find another way to defend against your sexual violence charge, we can use our experience to protect you by all means available.
When you are facing allegations of sexual violence in relation to a domestic relationship (or former domestic relationship), one of the first things you need to do is determine the specific allegations against you. Sexual violence falls under New Jersey’s sexual assault statute, and charges under this statute can take several different forms.
The specific charges you are facing will determine the penalties that are on the table. In most cases, sexual assault is a second-degree indictable offense that carries up to a $150,000 fine and 10 years of imprisonment. However, if you are being charged with aggravated sexual assault, this is a first-degree indictable offense that can carry up to a $200,000 fine and a minimum of 25 years without the possibility of parole.
In domestic violence cases, allegations of sexual violence can also lead to a domestic violence restraining order. While this may be the least of your worries if you are facing a decade or more of prison time, this is not something that you should ignore. If your New Jersey criminal lawyer is able to help you avoid a conviction or a substantial prison term in your sexual violence case and you violate the terms of your restraining order, this alone could land you in jail for up to 18 months.
Due to the risks involved, defending against sexual violence charges in New Jersey requires experienced legal representation. To ensure that you are doing everything you can to protect yourself, you should schedule an appointment with a New Jersey defense attorney right away.
To discuss your sexual violence case with a New Jersey defense attorney at Helmer, Conley & Kasselman, P.A., call us at 877-435-6371 or tell us how we can get in touch online. Once you get in touch, we will arrange for you to speak with an attorney in confidence as soon as possible.
Don’t let your rights be jeopardized.