Skip to Content

Call Us - Problem Solved
1-877-HELMER1
1-877-435-6371

Sexual Assault, Megan's Law, and Other Sex Crimes: Endangering the Welfare of a Child

New Jersey DYFS Lawyer Handling Child Endangerment Cases

New Jersey’s child endangerment statute imposes severe penalties for parents, caregivers and others who are accused of various forms of abuse and neglect. While the law is, understandably, designed to protect children as much as possible, its broad scope means that many people face charges that are unfounded, and false accusations often lead to life-changing criminal prosecutions as well.

If you have been charged with endangering the welfare of a child, contact a New Jersey DYFS lawyer at our firm and we will fight to make sure you face as few consequences as possible. We are sensitive to the unique and challenging aspects of facing child-related criminal charges, and we have the skill and experience required to help protect your future. Do not let false accusations or aggressive prosecution negatively affect your life – put our criminal defense team on your side so that we can fight for the outcome you deserve.

Facing Criminal Charges for Child Endangerment in New Jersey

New Jersey’s child endangerment statute outlines six primary types of offenses that range in severity from crimes of the first degree to crimes of the third degree:

  • “[Engaging] in sexual conduct which would impair or debauch the morals of the child,” is a second-degree offense when committed by a person, “having a legal duty for the care of a child or who has assumed responsibility for the care of a child.” In all other circumstances, it is a third-degree offense.
  • Causing harm to a child that, “would make the child an abused or neglected child,” as defined in various other sections of the New Jersey Statutes is either a second or third-degree offense, depending upon the defendant’s relationship to the child.
  • “[Permitting] a child to engage in a prohibited sexual act or in the simulation of such an act,” is a first-degree offense if the defendant intends, knows or has reason to know that the act will be filmed, photographed or distributed, including via the Internet.
  • “[Photographing] or film[ing] a child in a prohibited sexual act or in the simulation of such an act or who us[ing] any device, including a computer, to reproduce or reconstruct the image of a child in a prohibited sexual act or in the simulation of such an act,” is a second-degree offense.
  • Knowingly distributing, possessing with the intent to distribute, or storing with any file-sharing program “an item depicting the sexual exploitation or abuse of a child,” is a second-degree offense.
  • Knowingly possessing or viewing “an item depicting the sexual exploitation or abuse of a child,” is a third-degree offense.

In addition to the standard penalties for first, second and third-degree criminal offenses (with those convicted of a second degree crime facing 5-10 years of imprisonment and those convicted of third degree crimes facing between 3 to 5 years), the child endangerment statute includes steep fines, certain mandatory minimum sentences and provides for extended terms of imprisonment under certain circumstances. Individuals charged with sex-related and child-related offenses in New Jersey can face a variety of other consequences as well.

Schedule an Initial Consultation With a New Jersey DYFS Lawyer

For more information about defending yourself against charges of endangering the welfare of a child in New Jersey, contact the law offices of Helmer, Conley and Kasselman. To schedule a confidential initial consultation with an experienced New Jersey DYFS lawyer, call 1-877-435-6371 or request an appointment online now.

Call Us - Problem Solved

| 1-877-HELMER1
Helmer, Conley & Kasselman, P.A.

Time is of the Essence

Don’t let your rights be jeopardized.