Skip to Content

Call Us - Problem Solved

First Offense DUI

Arrested for Drunk Driving in New Jersey? Get the Help You Need from an Experienced New Jersey DUI Lawyer

If you’ve been arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) in New Jersey, it is important to understand what is at stake in your case. Even as a first-time offender, you are facing substantial costs, and you could be facing up to 30 days in jail. Your driver’s license could also be suspended indefinitely, and you could be facing a variety of other penalties (and other consequences) as well. With this in mind, it is critical that you speak with a New Jersey DWI lawyer as soon as possible.

We have extensive experience representing first-time DUI offenders throughout New Jersey. We can use our experience to help you—but only if you get in touch before it’s too late. You need to fight your DUI charge by all means available, and the longer you wait, the fewer options you will have on the table.

What You Need to Know if You Are Facing a First Offense DUI in New Jersey

What do you need to know if you are facing a DUI charge in New Jersey? Here are three critical facts for first-time offenders:

You Are Facing Steep Penalties

First-time DUI offenders in New Jersey can face $250 to $500 in fines, 12 to 48 hours in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device (IID), and a minimum driver’s license suspension that can be extended indefinitely until you have IIDs installed on your vehicle. Depending on the circumstances, the judge also has the discretion to sentence you to jail for up to 30 days. If your BAC was over 0.10 percent, if you caused an accident or if you had a minor in your vehicle, these are all factors that can increase the penalties for your DUI.

2. These Penalties Aren’t the Only Consequences of a Conviction

Along with these penalties, a DUI conviction could negatively impact your life in a variety of other ways. In New Jersey, a DUI conviction can also have consequences for your:

  • Education
  • Career
  • Professional license
  • Immigration status
  • Military service

3. There Are Several Ways to Fight a New Jersey DUI

Regardless of whether you were driving under the influence, you have defenses available. There are several ways to fight a DUI charge in New Jersey, and an experienced DUI lawyer will be able to fight your charge by all means available.

Can You Get Pretrial Diversion or Negotiate a Plea Deal for a First Offense DUI in New Jersey?

While some states have pretrial diversion programs for first-time DUI offenders, New Jersey does not. In addition, New Jersey does not allow plea bargaining in DUI cases. As a result, your only option is to fight your DUI.

Discuss Your Case with a New Jersey DUI Lawyer As Soon As Possible

To learn more about fighting your first-time DUI charge in New Jersey, contact us today. Call 877-435-6371 or get in touch online to speak with a New Jersey DUI lawyer at Helmer, Conley & Kasselman, P.A. 

Call Us - Problem Solved

Helmer, Conley & Kasselman, P.A.

Time is of the Essence

Don’t let your rights be jeopardized.