Skip to Content

Call Us - Problem Solved
1-877-HELMER1
1-877-435-6371

Drunk Driving: DUI Penalties in New Jersey

A New Jersey DUI is considered a traffic offense, but that does not mean that the penalties are minimal.  In fact, a DUI conviction carries some of the same penalties as a misdemeanor or felony, including large fines and jail time.

The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Code Title 39, sets forth the different penalties that are imposed on an individual convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI).  Although the penalties imposed vary based on the specifics of each case they can include:

  • First Offense: When an individual’s blood alcohol content for a first DUI offense is between .08% and .10%, the judge can impose the following penalties: 
    • Fines ranging from $250 to $400;
    • Indefinite forfeiture of driving privileges;
    • State imposed surcharges;
    • Up to 30 days in jail based on the Judge’s discretion;
    • Ignition interlock device required after the period of forfeited driving privileges for 3 months;
    • 12 to 48 hours at an Intoxicated Driver’s Resource Center.
    • For those first offenders with a blood alcohol content over .10%, the penalties are more severe with increased fines and a longer time period for suspended driving privileges. The judge can impose the following penalties
  • $200 to $400 in fines
  • Insurance surcharges
  • Forfeiture of driver’s license up to 6 months
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device for up to 21months
  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • 12 to 48 hours at an Intoxicated Driver’s Resource Center
  • Second Offense: If an individual has a second DUI offense within ten years from the first DUI traffic offense, the penalties are much more severe than those imposed for a first offense including:
    • Fines ranging from $500 to $1000;
    • Up to two-year forfeiture of driving privileges;
    • State imposed surcharges;
    • Imprisonment lasting from 48 hours up to 90 days;
    • Ignition interlock device required  during the period of forfeited driving privileges and for a additional period of 4 years;
    • A requirement to satisfy all screening, evaluation and referral requirements established by an Intoxicated Driver’s Resource Center.
  • Third or Subsequent Offense: If an individual is convicted of a third or subsequent DWI traffic offense within ten years from the first offense, the punishment is extremely severe: 
    • Fines of $1000;
    • 8 year suspended driving privileges;
    • State imposed surcharges;
    • Imprisonment for 180 days although the term can be reduced by the Judge if the individual receives inpatient treatment;
    • Ignition interlock device required during the period of forfeited driving privileges and an additional period of up to 4 years or the Judge can revoke all vehicle registrations and plates;
    • A requirement to satisfy all screening, evaluation and referral requirements established by an Intoxicated Driver’s Resource Center.

Increased Penalties for New Jersey DUIs

There are many different factors that result in more serious penalties after a DUI convictionOnly a skilled New Jersey DUI defense attorney can review the specifics of your case and determine which penalties could be imposed after a conviction.

Contact a New Jersey DUI Attorney

If you or a loved one are charged with a DUI traffic offense, it is important to speak with a DUI attorney at Helmer, Conley & Kasselman, P.A as soon as possible.  The penalties for a DWI conviction can be severe and you need a team of experienced DUI defense attorneys to work on your behalf to have the case dismissed or to minimize the penalties assessed against you.  Contact our office today.

Call Us - Problem Solved

| 1-877-HELMER1
Helmer, Conley & Kasselman, P.A.

Time is of the Essence

Don’t let your rights be jeopardized.