196 East Commerce Street
Bridgeton, NJ 08302
Call Us - Problem Solved
The State of New Jersey requires that all registered owners of motor vehicles purchase and maintain automobile liability insurance on their cars. This is done for the protection of third parties who may become injured so that they have recourse for damages they sustain in an automobile accident. However, the state only requires that owners purchase policies with limits of $15,000.00 per person and $30,000.00 per accident. This means that if you are injured in an accident which was not your fault, and you wish to sue the person for damages, if the other driver has a policy limit of $15,000.00/$30,000.00, the most you will be able to recover from the other party’s insurance company is $15,000.00 for yourself. Additionally, if more than one person is injured in your car, the total amount the other driver’s insurance company will pay, notwithstanding the number of passengers in your car, is $30,000.00. Given the speed of today’s vehicles and the increasing number of cars on the road in New Jersey, the most important insurance decision you can make is what is referred to as Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage.
Everyone’s automobile insurance policy has underinsured/uninsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage. Many car owners are unaware of this coverage and you should seek the assistance of a New Jersey personal injury attorney who will be able to explain this coverage and what it means to you. In addition to other coverages on your automobile insurance policy, you should be aware that you may select your own limits as to your UM/UIM coverage so as to afford you and your family added protection at a slight additional cost. The cost for increased coverage under UM/UIM coverage is minimal compared to the initial premium you pay for other coverages. Most UM/UIM coverages can be purchased for $100,000.00 limits of coverage at a very minimal cost to you. This becomes important if you are in fact injured by a driver of another car who has a minimal or $15,000.00 per person policy. By obtaining UM/UIM coverage of $100,000.00 or greater, you will be able to file a claim against your own insurance company using this coverage.
In the state of New Jersey, approximately 60% of drivers maintain a limited or $15,000.00/$30,000.00 policy. Another 13% of drivers maintain no insurance at all. What this means is that you have a 73% chance of being involved in an accident with someone who is either uninsured or underinsured. Maintaining higher UM/UIM coverage is vital for your own protection and is the most important coverage you can have in New Jersey. At the New Jersey personal injury law firm of Helmer, Conley & Kasselman, our attorneys will be happy to review your policy and explain to you what coverage you may have afforded to you.
In the event you are injured in an accident, notwithstanding whether you think you are injured or at fault, you should always consult with a New Jersey personal injury lawyer who is experienced in handling cases of this type and will be available to navigate you through the maze of insurance claims, adjusters, policies, and procedures. Even if you don’t think you are injured, it is vital that you consult with an attorney at the earliest opportunity, as many of your rights have time restrictions on them. We here at Helmer, Conley & Kasselman have attorneys skilled in automobile personal injury matters. Feel free to call us for a free consultation and a review of your automobile policy.
Don’t let your rights be jeopardized.