Skip to Content

Call Us - Problem Solved
1-877-HELMER1
1-877-435-6371

New Jersey Municipal Court Lawyer: Traffic Tickets and The New Jersey Point System

You Need a New Jersey Traffic Ticket Lawyer

At Helmer, Conley & Kasselman, we take traffic tickets seriously. That’s not because we believe these cases are on par with serious offenses, but because we know that these “minor” offenses can lead to major headaches and costs if handled incorrectly. No matter the offense, it's always best to consult with a New Jersey traffic ticket lawyer if your driving privileges are threatened. 

Points Can Cost You Higher Insurance Premiums and Your Driving Privileges

Convictions for traffic offenses also usually result in the addition of points to your driving history. If you accumulate 12 points or more on your driving record, regardless of the time period in which you accumulate them, your license will likely be suspended. If you accrue too many points in a given period, you could be assessed substantial surcharges as well. For example, if you receive six points or more within a three-year period, you will need to pay a surcharge annually for three years in addition to court fees and other penalties. Thus, no matter the ticket, it's always best to consult with a New Jersey traffic ticket lawyer. 

Also, points almost always increase your car insurance premiums. According to Insurance.com, the average increases in car insurance premiums resulting from common traffic violations are:

  • Reckless driving: 73 percent or $1,046 per year
  • Speeding over the designated speed limit by 30 MPH or more: 30 percent or $427 per year
  • Careless driving: 26 percent or $372 per year
  • Speeding over the designated speed limit by 15 to 29 MPH: 22 percent or $317 per year
  • Speeding over the designated speed limit by 1 to 14 MPH: 20 percent or $288 per year
  • Following too closely: 20 percent or $284 per year
  • Improper turn: 20 percent or $281 per year
  • Failure to yield: 20 percent or $281 per year
  • Driving without a license: 12 percent or $178 per year
  • Driving without insurance: 10 percent or $143 per year

Typically, insurance companies will increase drivers’ rates when their policies are up for renewal; and, at a minimum, a ticket is likely to increase your insurance rates for three years. For an offense like reckless driving, this means thousands of dollars on top of the fines and other court-imposed penalties imposed for your traffic violation. Thus, New Jersey traffic ticket lawyer is more valuable investment than people realize. 

What Points Will be Awarded to My Driving Record?

Common New Jersey violations and the points that will be added to your driving record include:

2-Point Violations: 

  • Failure to yield right-of-way to a pedestrian
  • Disregarding traffic signals
  • Failure to use proper turn signal
  • Driving the wrong way down a one-way street
  • Blocking traffic by driving at low speeds
  • Driving at a speed 1 to 14 MPH over the designated speed limit
  • Not stopping for a traffic light
  • Leaving the scene of an accident with no personal injury involved
  • Failing to yield to emergency vehicles
  • Driving through safety zone
  • Failure to observe direction of officer
  • Proceeding through stop or yield signs
  • Any moving violation committed in a state other than New Jersey

 3-Point Violations: 

  • Disobeying right or left turn laws
  • U-turn violation
  • Use of a handheld cellphone or electronic communication device while driving

 4-Point Violations:

  •  Passing in a no passing zone
  • Speeding over the designated speed limited by 15 to 29 MPH

 5-Point Violations: 

  • Speeding over the designated speed limit by 30 MPH or more
  • Illegal racing
  • Reckless driving
  • Tailgating
  • Passing or attempting to pass a stopped school bus

An accident resulting in personal injury will immediately add eight points to your driving record, leaving you with little margin for error before you lose your right to drive in New Jersey.

Additionally, your license may be immediately suspended if you are found guilty of any of the following, some of which are not traffic violations:

  • Driving while intoxicated (DWI)
  • Operating a vehicle without a license
  • Driving a vehicle without insurance
  • Failure to pay child support
  • Failure to make a court-ordered appearance
  • Some drug-related charges
  • Drinking alcohol if you're under the age of 21 years old

If your license is reinstated after being suspended for points or for being a persistent violator, your driving privileges will be placed under a one-year probationary period. If you commit another moving violation during that period, no matter what the points associated with the violation are, your license will be immediately suspended once again as follows:

For the first violation within a year of restoration:

  • Within 6 months of restoration: 90-day suspension
  • Within 7–9 months: 60-day suspension
  • Within 10–12 months: 45-day suspension

For second and subsequent violations within a year of restoration: 

  • Within 6 months of restoration: 180-day suspension
  • Within 7–9 months: 120-day suspension
  • Within 10–12 months: 90-day suspension

Don't risk the penalties! Hire a Top New Jersey Traffic Ticket Lawyer Today!

If you're a repeat offender or are charged with a serious violation, contact a New Jersey traffic ticket lawyer for Helmer Legal today. Call 1-877-Helmer1 or complete our contact form now. 

 

Call Us - Problem Solved

| 1-877-HELMER1
Helmer, Conley & Kasselman, P.A.

Time is of the Essence

Don’t let your rights be jeopardized.