196 East Commerce Street
Bridgeton, NJ 08302
Call Us - Problem Solved
If you have been charged with assault in Freehold, New Jersey, it is important to make sure you have a clear understanding of the charges against you. New Jersey’s assault statute outlines three separate offenses (simple assault, aggravated assault, and assault by auto or vessel); and, depending on the specifics of your case, you could be facing probation, or you could be facing up to 10 years in jail. You may also be facing up to a $150,000 fine.
At Helmer, Conley & Kasselman, P.A., we are highly-experienced criminal defense lawyers with a proven record of success defending clients in Freehold, NJ. If you have been charged with assault, we encourage you to contact us immediately to discuss your case. Our Freehold assault lawyer can help you understand the penalties that are on the table, and our team will implement a comprehensive defense strategy focused on protecting you against injustice.
Under Section 2C:12-1.a. of the New Jersey Code of Criminal Justice, the crime of simple assault is defined as (i) attempting to cause, or purposely, knowingly or recklessly causing, harm to another; (ii) negligently causing harm to another with a deadly weapon; or, (iii) attempting by physical menace to put another in fear of imminent harm. Simple assault is a disorderly persons offense except in cases involving “a fight or scuffle entered into by mutual consent,” in which case it is a petty disorderly persons offense.
Section 2C:12-1.b. of the New Jersey Code of Criminal Justice outlines 13 separate types of acts that can be charged as aggravated assault. Depending upon the specific facts and circumstances involved, aggravated assault can be charged as either a second, third or fourth-degree indictable offense. Examples of crimes charged as aggravated assault in New Jersey include:
Assault by auto or vessel can range from a disorderly persons offense to a second-degree indictable offense. Causing an accident with injuries while driving under the influence is minimally a fourth-degree indictable offense, and can be charged as a second-degree indictable offense if the accident occurs in a school zone, in a school crossing or on school property.
To speak with one of our experienced criminal defense lawyers about your assault case in Freehold, please call 1-877-435-6371 or request a confidential consultation online. We will schedule your appointment with a Freehold assault lawyer as soon as possible.
Don’t let your rights be jeopardized.