DWI or Driving While Intoxicated is a serious offense in New Jersey. There is a range of fines and suspensions that will apply, and you may even receive a permanent record of conviction. In some cases, there may be mandatory jail time, while in other cases, a court may require that an ignition interlock device be installed in your vehicle. From license suspensions and community service to jail time, New Jersey courts have a number of ways to punish DWI offenders. As is clear from this, a DWI charge in New Jersey can carry major consequences.
Under New Jersey's laws, you may face license suspensions, prison terms and community service depending on the blood alcohol level. For instance:
For an alcohol or drug-related DWI involving a blood alcohol level of .10% or greater, you can expect to lose your license for between seven months and a year, pay hundreds of dollars in fees and penalties, go to jail for up to 30 days and perform between 12 and 48 hours of community service.
For an alcohol or drug-related DWI with a blood alcohol level greater than .08% but less than .10%, you may lose your license for three months, pay fines, fees and surcharges totaling more than hundreds of dollars, have a 30-day jail term imposed on you and be required to perform 12 to 48 hours of community service.
Punishments get more severe for repeat DWI convictions. For instance, a second DWI conviction within a period of 10 years can lead to a license suspension of two years, and a jail term of a minimum of 48 hours and a maximum of 90 days.
For a third offense within 10 years of the second offense, you could be at risk of losing your license for 10 years and subjected to a jail term of 180 days. The fines, fees and penalties that you are liable to pay also increase dramatically, and community service requirements can be up to 90 days.
That’s the reason why you need an experienced New Jersey DWI lawyer on your side. The New Jersey DWI defense attorneys at Helmer Paul Conley and Kasselman represent persons charged with DWI and facing license suspension in New Jersey