Sexual assault charges carry severe penalties under New Jersey law. You could be facing a decade or more of prison time with a substantial period of parole ineligibility, and you could also be facing $100,000 or more in fines. Also, if the victim is under 13 years old at the time of an aggravated sexual assault, a conviction carries a mandatory 25 years without parole eligibility or 15 years without parole eligibility in some circumstances.
As a result, you need an experienced New Jersey sexual assault lawyer on your side, and you need to be prepared to fight your charge by all means available. Unfortunately, many sexual assault cases result from false accusations. Domestic partners and others frequently file false reports—and they often do so without a clear understanding of the implications involved. The good news is that it will be possible to expose false accusations in many cases; and, even if you cannot prove that the allegations against you are false, it is still up to the prosecution to prove your guilt beyond a reasonable doubt.
5 Important Facts About Facing Sexual Assault Charges in New Jersey
If you have been falsely accused of sexual assault in New Jersey, here are five important facts for you to know:
1. The Truth Probably Isn’t Going to Come Out on Its Own
While your accuser might come clean, in our experience this is fairly unlikely. As a result, it will be up to you to disprove the allegations against you. Unless you get very lucky, the truth is not going to come out on its own—and it is not going to come out at all unless you take action in your own defense. Even if a person is factually guilty, a good defense may avoid a conviction.
2. There are Several Options for Disproving False Accusations
When it comes to disproving false allegations, there are several options available. From employment records to text messages, a variety of types of evidence can be used to prove that you are not guilty of sexual assault. Of course, the types of evidence you can use will depend on the specific circumstances of your case.
3. There are Also Other Options for Defending Against Sexual Assault Charges
Proving that the allegations against you are false is not the only way to defend against a sexual assault charge. Although you may understandably want to prove that your accuser is lying, it may ultimately be in your best interests to focus on other defenses.
4. You Should Not Go After Your Accuser in Any Way
No matter what, you should not go after your accuser in any way. Do not confront him or her in person, and do not say anything on social media. If you do, this will only make matters worse.
5. You Will Need to Work Closely with Your Lawyer Going Forward
Given the risks of facing sexual assault charges in New Jersey and the challenges involved in asserting a successful defense, it will be extremely important for you to work closely with your lawyer going forward. Your lawyer will need you to provide as much information as possible, and you will need to rely on your lawyer’s advice and representation to protect yourself to the fullest extent possible.
Schedule a Confidential Consultation with a New Jersey Sexual Assault Lawyer
Have you been falsely accused of sexual assault in New Jersey? If so, we can help. To discuss your case with an experienced New Jersey sexual assault lawyer in confidence, call 877-435-6371 or request a confidential consultation online now.
Over 20 attorneys at HCK have extensive experience in defending criminal cases as they were former assistant prosecutors and/or police officers for a combined total of over 600 years of law enforcement experience. You can find out more about them on our site, and you can call Managing Partner Ron Helmer on his cell phone at 609 685-0665.