A Report from your New Jersey Criminal Attorneys
Two 15-year-old wrestlers at a New Jersey high school who were arrested after complaints that they inappropriately touched three younger middle school boys will now be subject to Megan’s Law.
The three victims, who are 11 years old, were participating in an after-school activity at a middle school in Glen Rock, New Jersey. According to their complaint, one of the teenagers held down a younger child while the other teen touched the child inappropriately. One of the younger victims informed his coach about the incident. The older teenagers were charged with juvenile delinquency, aggravated criminal sexual contact and lewdness.
There was no information about whether the boys were engaged in a school wrestling match at the time the inappropriate touching allegedly occurred. However, some New Jersey criminal defense attorneys suspectthat the incident involved hazing that went out of control.
The boys have been convicted, and will now be subject to Megan's Law.
Under New Jersey's Megan's Law, persons who have been convicted of sex offenses are required to register with local police. Registration details include personal information including the name and address of the person as well as his place of employment. Information about the person must be made available to law enforcement agencies and, if necessary, to the public.
Sex -related crimes are some of the most serious crimes that any adult or juvenile can be charged with. In New Jersey, persons who have been convicted of aggravated sexual assault, aggravated criminal sexual contact, sexual assault, endangering the welfare of a child through pornography featuring a child, promoting child prostitution and other offenses may be required to register under Megan's Law. Juveniles must register just like adults.
The New Jersey criminal defense attorneys at Helmer Paul Conley and Kasselman represent persons charged with drug crimes, murder, sex crimes, fraud, DUI and other crimes across New Jersey.