Recent changes in New York’s relicensing regulations could propel similar changes to DUI laws across the country, New Jersey DUI attorneys say. New York officials have put in motion legislation that will deny relicensing to repeat DUI offenders, who account for 25% of all drunk driving related accidents each year. Other states have recently instituted harsher penalties as well in an attempt to prevent habitual drunk drivers from staying behind the wheel.
This summer, New Jersey’s Assembly Law and Public Safety Committee took steps to make it harder for repeat DUI offenders to renew their licenses. Talk about stricter laws was stimulated when a Vineland resident racked up five drunken driving charges in a five-week period.
Repeat DUI offenders in New Jersey now face strict fines and imprisonment of at least 180 days following a third or subsequent violation, or 90 days in an inpatient rehabilitation facility. Habitually drunk drivers also face a ten-year license suspension and are required to install an ignition interlock device [SK1] in any car registered to them, according to New Jersey DUI attorneys.
New York’s pending legislation will prevent repeat DUI offenders from renewing their licenses after five or more convictions for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. The DMV will review lifetime records of these drivers, and deny reinstatement as necessary. They will also block relicensing for New York drivers who have at least one serious driving offense and at least three DUI convictions in the last 25 years.
The New Jersey DUI attorneys at Helmer, Conley, and Kasselman offer legal counsel and advice to residents who are facing DUI charges. Contact our experienced NJ drunk driving attorneys for a free consultation today.