Prom is rite of passage for New Jersey teens, and unfortunately for some of them, it also ends with DUI charges, and maybe even a DUI conviction. Across New Jersey, as high schoolers prepare for prom night, it is very important for these students to understand that a DUI conviction can have potentially serious results.
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration says that DUI arrests involving drivers below the age of 21 increase significantly around prom season, especially in April, May and June. New Jersey has strong penalties for underage drinkers, and if you are found driving under the influence of alcohol on prom night, you can expect a zero-tolerance policy.
In New Jersey, the legal definition of intoxication for an underage driver is a blood alcohol level of above .01%. A teen driver can be prosecuted even if his alcohol level is below the .08% limit allowed for adult drivers.
An underage drinker convicted of DUI in New Jersey could lose his license for a minimum of 30 days and a maximum of 90 days. He may also be sentenced to community service for a minimum of 15 days and a maximum of 30 days. Persons below the age of 21 convicted of DUI in New Jersey will also be required to undertake a highway safety program or pay fees and penalties as prescribed by the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center.
If you have been convicted of DUI, you may also be required to mention this information on your college application form. A DUI conviction may not automatically scuttle your chances of getting admission into a reputed college, but will not look so great on your application either. This prom night, if you are pulled over for drunk driving, speak with an experienced New Jersey DUI lawyer at the earliest.